Life, Love, and Dirty Diapers

The Women in Time’s Most Influential List 2011: Aung San Suu Kyi

on December 26, 2011

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas! Let’s take a look at Aung San Suu Kyi.

  • Non-violent activist in Myanmar (formerly known as Burma) working for peace and democracy.
  • She has been under house arrest in the past for over 10 years (sources differ between 14 and 15 years) though she is now free.
  • She was the legitimately elected leader, but unable to lead due to the house arrest issue (and because the government in power just didn’t like her).
  • Her and her party are getting ready to run again, despite the bad outcomes for her on the last time she ran.
  • She holds a Nobel Peace Prize.

I want to add this video too since I think it does a pretty good job explaining a lot of the background to her:

I’m not going to lie when I say I think she’s influential, because I truly think she is, but I should admit upfront my bias. She has been my political hero for a long time for her unrelenting perseverance in the face of a very oppressive government. But apart from that, if not for her work and the people working with her, Myanmar/Burma would have very little chance of ever seeing freedom because it is hard and scary to stand up to a military junta and they’re not likely to just say “Oh you’re being oppressed? Sorry about that, here’s your freedom back.” Later on at some point, I will probably do a more in depth piece on her because I think she is such an important and influential figure.

I know I haven’t been including videos with this series, but I will today because I think it’s worth listening to her explain why non-violence is so important.

Sources:

Add Your Thoughts!

