Life, Love, and Dirty Diapers

Being Soul Hungry

on November 15, 2012

Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.” – John 6:35

Eating is all something that we have to do every day. I was curious because I was looking for statistics on how much of our lifetime we spend eating and I found this American Time Use Survey has most Americans eating a little over an hour a day, which equals to over 400 hours spent eating every year or over 2,000 hours when you stretch that out over five years. Crazy isn’t it? Now I mean, I love food as much as the next person, but imagine all the things I could do if I didn’t have to stop to take time to eat? It would be a crazy amount of time back.

So when Jesus says we’ll never have to be hungry again, it’s a relatable analogy. Because he’s not talking about literal hunger and thirst. He didn’t come to feed our physical bodies. He came to feed our spiritual selves, to keep us from being soul hungry. Because how many people out there are searching for something to fill the emptiness inside of them, the hunger for something that means something? They turn to all sorts of substitutes – alcohol, drugs, false gods, more money – the list goes on and on. But those things can’t fill our soul hunger. They may feel like they do for a little while, but it’s only temporary. It’s not lasting.

But Jesus, he offers that lasting soul filling, the bread and water that your soul can eat and never be hungry again. It’s amazing. We were designed to be his and without him in our life, we will never find completeness. With him we can have everlasting life, the bread of life.


Add Your Thoughts!