Life, Love, and Dirty Diapers

The Choice

on August 28, 2012

All right, I’m cross posting this from my other blog because I’m starting to slowly switch things over and make this my only bog. Just a quick note, I know you can’t enter to win the Nook anymore but I left it in there since the author party is tonight and there are still prizes you can win there. I might be there. I hope to be there but it all depends on when little guy sleeps and if I do anything for my birthday.

Name of book: The Choice

Author: Robert Whitlow

Robert Whitlow is the best-selling author of legal novels set in the South and winner of the prestigious Christy Award for Contemporary Fiction. A Furman University graduate, Whitlow received his J.D. with honors from the University of Georgia School of Law where he served on the staff of the Georgia Law Review. A practicing attorney, Whitlow and his wife, Kathy, have four children. They make their home in North Carolina.

For more about Robert and his other books, visit http://www.robertwhitlow.com.

Summary (from Litfuse): One young woman. Two very different roads. The choice will change everything.

Even as a pregnant, unwed teen in 1974, Sandy Lincoln wanted to do the right thing. But when an ageless woman approached her in a convenience store with a mysterious prophecy and a warning, doing the right thing became even more unclear. She made the best choice she could . . . and has lived with the consequences.

More than thirty years later, a pregnant teen has come into her life, and Sandy’s long-ago decision has come back to haunt her. The stakes rise quickly, leaving Sandy with split seconds to choose once more. But will her choice decision bring life . . . or death?

Rating: 4.5

Reason for rating: Well when I first started reading this book I wasn’t so sure about it. To me, the first part of the book seems rushed and some lines and parts feel a little cliche. I was like yeah, yeah, yeah same old same old, I’ve heard this story before, give me something new. But sticking with it, the second part improved greatly, I found myself getting to know and really relate to these characters. (I am trying so hard right now, by the way, to write this review without spoilers because there are so many things I could say in more specific details, but I don’t want to give away huge chunks of the plot). By the end of the book, I was reading as fast as I could, trying so hard to find out what would happen next.  When I finished, I had tears in my eyes and the story had moved me deeply. As someone who did mock trial in high school and Model UN in college, I appreciated the legal aspects of it as well. The only other thing is that I’m not so sure I liked was the whole prophecy thing. It was a little too mysticism feeling for my liking, but I could look past that to the overall story itself and I understand how it furthered the plot. I think this book reminded me a little of Jodi Piccoult’s work, one of my favorite authors. I say that because of the interwoven ethical/moral dilemma, interaction with the legal system, and strong relationship/family components. I appreciated also that it was a Christian book on the subject of unwanted pregnancy and the choice between adoption, abortion, or parenting without ever coming across as preachy or holier than thou. It was refreshing. I think if you have ever been involved in the pro-life movement (as I have) that you will find this book a mostly enjoyable read.

Celebrate with Robert by entering to win a Nook Color with GlowLight!

See what folks are saying about The Choice!

One “choice” winner will receive:

  • A Nook Color with GlowLight
  • A four book Robert Whitlow library (winner’s choice)

Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on August 27th. Winner will be announced at the “The Choice” Author Chat Facebook Party on 8/28. Meet Robert, get a sneak peek of his next book, try your hand at a trivia contest, and more. There will also be gift certificates, books and a Book Club Prize Pack to be won (10 copies for your book club or small group.)!

So grab your copy of The Choice and join Robert on the evening of the August 27th for a chance to connect with Robert and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the book – don’t let that stop you from coming!)

Enter via E-mail Enter via FacebookEnter via Twitter



Don’t miss a moment of the RSVP today. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 28th!

Find The Choice on Thomas Nelson

Find  The Choice on Amazon

Find The Choice on Goodreads

Disclosure: I was provided with a free e-book copy of this in exchange for my honest review. These thoughts and feelings are 100 percent mine and 100 percent real!

Add Your Thoughts!

