Life, Love, and Dirty Diapers

Breast Implants Have Increased

on November 20, 2011

So man oh man. I came across this article from the New York Times about how in the last ten years breast implants have increased. A lot. I mean, sure, they could increase more, but it still seems like a huge number to me. They increased 39 percent since 2000. And maybe over time that doesn’t seem like a huge increase, but still. It asks the question why? Plastic surgery carries serious risks and it’s not like there’s any medical reason (that I know of) to get breast implants like there is to get a breast reduction.

Why do women feel the need to make their breasts bigger? I feel like this represents an underlying trend in society not to be happy with our body’s image. You know? There’s always bigger breasts, longer legs, better hair, thinner figure to have. But why? Why is it that some women feel such pressure to look a certain way that they’re willing to undergo surgery to look a different way? And it’s risky surgery at that. What is it about our society that women feel the need to do this? To risk possible death just to have bigger boobs?

What would it take to end the hate about our body image? What would it take for women to love themselves? This is the question I want to know.

12 responses to “Breast Implants Have Increased

  1. Kate says:

    I don’t know but one of my friends in high school got a boob job as a graduation gift from her Mom (NOT KIDDING!!). Her Mom had one too, both of them had extremely small breasts and I think it was a confidence thing. She got them to a C and honestly they looked proportional and I think they wanted to do it because they just wanted to look proportional or something. Plastic surgery is definitely a huge gray area! You will be SO surprised all the people who have had it done. I got involved in a conversation about it and discovered my co-worker at the time had one of hers reduced because they were both noticeably different size. I myself have had a scar revision done because I had a scar that made me look like I had a 2nd belly button. Did I need it done? No. Did it carry risks? I’m sure. But it was worth it to me to be more confident and feel better about myself.

    • Melissa says:

      It’s still interesting though because of the ways that we let it give us confidence and things like that. But there’s nothing that says we need plastic surgery or to change our image to be more confident. I’m just curious about it because of the amount of people that get procedures done for totally cosmetic reasons.

  2. Kate says:

    Nothing may say (we need to change our image to be more confident) but if changing something about yourself can make you feel better, than who am I to tell that person they need to just live with “what God gave them”?? I mean, don’t get me wrong, I think “Nip and Tuck” type plastic surgery is just as disgusting as the next person…. but when you go further and further down the line it gets harder and harder and greyer and greyer. Like it or not, your body is there and how you feel about it is going to influence how you function as a person. If you simply cannot move past something and feels like it holding you back, then like I said… I’m not going to stand in anyone’s way. I think this is more of a 2 way street rather than a 1 way street…. sure it does have to do with kids making fun of other kids for big ears and noses and the media perpetuating the myth of the perfect (and by way of photoshop… unattainable) body…. but it also has to do with how you feel in your own skin too. I was hardly EVER made fun of for my belly button problem (in fact more often that not people were just curious about it and thought it was neat)… but that did not change my own perception of it as ugly and something I totally did NOT want to deal with for the rest of my life.

    • Melissa says:

      But what did they do in the time before plastic surgery really existed as it does? I mean, today it’s so much easier to say “I don’t like this, so I’ll change it” but does having that ability to change it make it a good thing? You’re right, it is a really gray area, but I feel more against it than ever for it. Like what would have you done if there wasn’t the ability to change it? Would you have let it affect you for the rest of your life or would have you found a way to move on? Do you know what I’m saying? Plus, I think the other shady underbelly of plastic surgery is a way con because you have to have very little credentials to call yourself a plastic surgeon, but that’s a totally different subject. Is it doing good now because we have it or is it just preventing us from learning to move past and accept the way we look? Just some food for thought.

  3. Kate says:

    Yeah I see what you are saying. I’m sure a LOT of people out there, esp with money just go and have it done without a second thought, but I would like to think there are some out there who take their time and really see if they can ‘get over it’ before they get it surgically corrected. I guess before plastic surgery people just had to ‘deal with it’ and in some cases it did affect them for the rest of their lives. As for me personally, yeah the belly button thing probably would of bothered me for forever… or at least until I had a child and my stomach got wrecked from that (which it did, but at least it’s “normal” whereas the mis-healing of a scar from a drainage tube when I was an infant created a seriously abnormal looking scar and caused me a lot of grief!).
    As for my friend, I mean that’s totally super weird that her Mom got her a boob job, but in a small way I kind of do see her point, here was a girl who was a double-A but yet of an average build everywhere else, not to mention the hips/butt to “balance things out” if you know what I mean. I mean… I kind of see her point, it she felt she got gipped in the boob department and having a boob job was going to make her look proportional (in other words, she didn’t go for size F’s or anything) and feel more confident in herself, then who am I to tell her she needs to “move on”? Nope I will not be that person, because people sure told me to get over my ugly scar and to that I say.. it’s my choice 🙂

    • Melissa says:

      Yeah and there is that point where it just becomes too much. I was watching a show once (http://tlc.discovery.com/videos/truth-be-told-clips-steves-plastic-surgery-addiction.html) about people who were addicted to plastic surgery, people who had had it not just once or twice, but 20 or 30 or even 40 + times and were still going to get more done. I guess in the end I just want people to think more seriously about the risks before getting something done for cosmetic purposes. I mean, okay, there are lots of people unhappy with their bodies, but – like the lady, for example, who went in to get plastic surgery on her boobs and the doctor made them one big uniboob and then decided she needed an eyelid lift and now she can’t even close her eyelids cause he messed it up so bad. (http://abcnews.go.com/Health/Wellness/buyer-beware-uncertified-doc-botches-surgery-woman-uniboob/story?id=14582843#.TsnEfWCRkXw) Plastic surgery can and does go horribly wrong, but still millions of people get plastic surgery, and I’m not sure that all of them are taking all of the risks into account. For something cosmetic like that, I think I would just want people to ask “Is it worth the worst possible side effect to get this changed?” And if it is, then I guess it is their choice, but if they ask themselves that question and it’s not, than maybe they won’t go ahead with it. Because it is getting easier to get plastic surgery and because so many people do it, I think it is easier to forget that it can carry very serious consequences.

  4. Damn, very nice site. I came across this on Yahoo, and I am really happy that I did. I will definately be coming back here more regularly. Wish I could add to the info and bring a bit more to the post, but am just absorbing as much info as I can at the moment.

  5. Awesome writing style!

Add Your Thoughts!

