Life, Love, and Dirty Diapers

On Women Becoming Priests and Pastors

on October 2, 2011

I was watching this old 60 minutes interview with the Archibishop of New York and he said an interesting thing about women priests that made me think, since I belong to a conservative Lutheran synod that does also not allow women to be  pastors. This is what he had to say.

“Jesus gave women positions of responsibility. The only ones at the foot of the cross except for St. John? Women. The people that discovered his resurrection? Women. The people that were with him on his journeys? Women. People say, ‘This guy was kind of a pioneer in women’s rights.’ So, if he were going to intend them for the priesthood, he woulda done it. And he didn’t.” – Archbishop Dolan

And I think a lot of that resonated with me. Full disclosure, when I was a high school sophomore and I was being young and rebellious and I thought cool. I really wanted to be a pastor. I thought it was unfair and sexist that God didn’t want women to be pastors.

After a lot of talks with a lot of people much smarter than myself, I realized that it wasn’t the case at all. God simply gives women and men different roles in the church. Some people think that because pastors are in a leadership role that it is a better, more important role. I would disagree with that. Look at all the important things that [i]only[/i] women can do. I mean, Mary was the mother of Jesus and only a woman could ever be a mother. Women are given the important role of bearing all children. We’re given unique roles by our personalities. And honestly, I don’t want to change that. I like being different. Not to mention, we can teach our kids about Jesus, which is just as important as a pastor teaching his congregation (not that men can’t also teach their kids, but sometimes I think moms spend more time with their kids – I’m not saying this is true in all cases, just a lot of the time).

Anyways, that’s how I see it. Let me know your thoughts!

Oh and if you want to watch the full interview (or parts of it I think because it’s overtime?) you can find it here.

2 responses to “On Women Becoming Priests and Pastors

  1. You are so right about everything that you have written. God ordained for men to be in the actual leadership role of the church. That doesn’t mean that a woman cannot minister to the congregation or the body. This world puts such an emphasis on being in charge, being the biggest and loudest, making the money and so on. When have strayed so far away from what God intends for us as women. And He gave us that role, is endowed to us by our creator. What could be better? It isn’t easy, by any stretch. And Mark Driscoll said it best in one of his sermons that the men have the role that is more oriented on “the market place” i.e. going out and earning and income. Where as the ladies role has a much larger emphasis on the home life. And of the two, which does the Bible refer to more? The home life. The home life, being a Godly family with a foundation build upon Christ is a huge deal in the Bible. Our ministry is at home, and there isn’t much more that is important that raising a good family. I’m working on rearing two of my own right now, and it isn’t easy.

    I just gave up working full time at a bank in June to have my little girl Clara. And when I sent out a goodbye email, I can’t tell you how many women wrote back and told me that staying home was something they wish they could have had the chance to do. I’m talking women who were higher ups with respected posts in the bank, making great money. There are days I’d love to escape for 40 hours a week and go to work, but I think on that and it reminds me that I made the right choice.

    Great posts!!

    • Melissa says:

      Thank you so much! I know what you mean and how it feels – it’s definitely something that the world values less but there’s no reason for them to. Then again, the world never values things in the same way that God does, do they?

Add Your Thoughts!

