Life, Love, and Dirty Diapers

Street Harassment – Another Blogger’s Thoughts On It

on August 16, 2011

I like to share other bloggers work because I know how much time goes into creating a blog post. It’s also, frankly, because somebody said it better than me or somebody said it first. It’s also partially because I get a little bit of a break for having some new content – I’ll be honest.

That’s why I’m linking to this post.

Because I have been harassed in the street before. And I think she does an excellent job of what it makes you feel like. So have at the read and I hope, if you don’t already, that you have a better idea of the feelings behind street harassment.

4 responses to “Street Harassment – Another Blogger’s Thoughts On It

  1. sianushka says:

    thank you for linking to my blog and your kind words. It’s so important we speak out about street harassment. In fact, was harassed again just last night!

    All the best,
    Sian

    • Melissa says:

      You are greatly welcome! I’m always glad to link to other bloggers because I know I can’t be the be all and end all in terms of information. Keep on writing!
      Melissa

  2. etjanairo says:

    This is a very interesting and painful topic, and the post you link to is an excellent description of the problem. sian and crooked rib makes an interesting point that jumped out at me: “I do however think a lot of people don’t understand how sexually aggressive street harassment can be.” This “people” or “they” she talks about is a fascinating concept, as if there is a large group of humans out there who just don’t get how bad street harrassment really is. But it can only be that this ‘people’ is really ‘men (and some women?) who have never been harrassed.’ I don’t know any woman who has not been harrassed in some way on the street, even if it is just ogling from creepy men who don’t say any words but don’t have to. Even the women I know who love to flaunt their sexuality and say they are not upset but flattered by the attention seem to relish their “power” over men, not realizing (or trying to reverse) the objectification that is happening to them.

    I think this blogger’s description of the objectification is right on, and disturbing. But it seems to me that the ‘people’ who really need to learn about this aspect of the problem aren’t women, but men.

    My two cents.

    etj

    • Melissa says:

      I completely agree. I think men are a huge part of the answer to ending things like street harassment, domestic violence, rape, and other crimes that are usually (but not always) perpetrated by men against women. I feel like for a long time (and to some extent, they still are), women were taught how to prevent these things from happening to them. But women can prevent all they want until we’re blue in the face, but the biggest change will come when other men start standing up to their fellow men and say, “It’s not right to treat women like that.” So I am totally with you there.

Add Your Thoughts!

