Life, Love, and Dirty Diapers

God’s Timing

on September 12, 2012

Source: truelifeofasouthernbelle.tumblr.com via Melissa on Pinterest

 

Do you ever try and put God on your schedule? I know I have many times. From the little stuff to the big stuff, I know I have told God too many times that waiting isn’t good enough for me. That I want what I want and I want it now (reminiscient of the spoiled kid from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory). Or how many times do I think “If only that had happened sooner.”

I’m sure we wish for these things. Like the couple who tries to get pregnant and it takes them years before they do. Or the college grad who looks for a job for months before he finds one.

And it can go the reverse too. The couple who gets pregnant unexpectedly who always wanted kids but thinks “How in the world can we make this work right now?” Or when someone you love dies and you think “It’s too soon.”

And don’t get me wrong, I don’t think it’s wrong to pray to God for specific things to happen – in fact, he encourages us to pray in everything. But along with that is the fact that we need to be satisfied in Him. Not only in what he gives us but in when he gives it to us.

Because truly He is perfect. And that means His timing is as well. So next time you’re tempted to think He’s done something too soon or that His timing is way too late, just remember that in His infinite wisdom He picked this time. After all, the Jews in the Old Testament must have said to themselves at times, “Gee, why doesn’t God just send the Messiah right now?” But He didn’t because He knew the best time for Him to come. And He knows the best time for all things in your life to happen.

Add Your Thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

